November 26, 2013

Halifax, N.S. – The Taste of Nova Scotia Prestige Awards is a celebration of excellence to honour producers and restaurants that provide exceptional culinary products and experiences. Winners, from consumer nominations, were announced during the annual Tourism Industry Association of Nova Scotia’s (TIANS) Tourism Summit on November 26, 2013.

“It’s an opportunity to recognize our members in a formal way…the hard work, perseverance and dedication that these Nova Scotian companies bring to our culinary industry,” says Janice Ruddock, executive director of Taste of Nova Scotia. “These companies face many obstacles as entrepreneurs, bringing us innovative products and authentic culinary experiences. They are focused on being the best they can be for this province and we are fortunate that they choose to call Nova Scotia home.”

Taste of Nova Scotia Prestige Awards for 2013 were presented in the following categories:

Innovative Product of the Year
Haskapa Haskap Juice, LaHave Forest Inc., Blockhouse

Restaurant of the Year – Chef Inspired Fine Dining
Gabrieau’s Bistro, Antigonish

Restaurant of the Year – Chef Inspired Casual Dining
Mateus Bistro, Mahone Bay

Restaurant of the Year – Essence of Nova Scotia
Shore Club Lobster Suppers, Hubbards

Producer of the Year
Terra Beata Cranberry Farm, Heckman’s Island

Server of the Year 
Amber MacLean, Morris East, Halifax

Consumer Choice Product of the Year
Bliss, Avondale Sky Winery, Newport Landing

Gary MacDonald Culinary Ambassador of the Year 
Pete Luckett, Pete’s and Luckett Vineyards

“The time is now for food entrepreneurs on every level…farmers, restaurateurs, food trucks and producers,” says Pete Luckett of Luckett Winery and the 2013 Culinary Ambassador of the Year. “There are so many opportunities right now as a result of the fever for local food.”

Nominations for the Taste of Nova Scotia Prestige Awards were received from Taste of Nova Scotia members and the public. The nominations were brought to a judges’ panel and then approved by the Taste of Nova Scotia Board of Directors. For more information about Taste of Nova Scotia and its members visit